Elect one clerical and one lay member

The Rev. Chris Culpepper is Rector of Christ the Redeemer, Fort Worth. He is chaplain of the TCU Canterbury ministry and chair of the diocesan Convention Credentials Committee. A past participant or leader on several foreign mission trips, he is a member of the board of Sharing of Ministries Abroad (SOMA). He chairs the Church Planting Task Force for Forward in Faith/North America. He is a past clerical delegate to the ACNA Assembly.




The Rev. Alan Horton is an assistant at St. Vincent’s Cathedral in Bedford. He is President-elect of the diocesan Catholic Clerical Union and co-chair of the Christian Education Commission.




The Rev. Andrew Powell is rector of St. Andrew’s, Grand Prairie, and serves on the Commission on Ministry for the Priesthood. He is a member of the Society of the Holy Cross. He is a member of Grand Prairie’s Police an Clergy Association and serves on the advisory board of the E. Carlyle Smith Medical Center.


John Heffron is a member of St. Barnabas, Fort Worth, where he has served as Senior Warden, Alpha leader, usher, small group leader, lay reader, and convention delegate. He is a member of the Camp Crucis Board of Managers and is the parish coordinator for the Bishop Iker Challenge Golf Tournament.




Jimmy Henry is a member of St. John’s, Brownwood, where he has been both treasurer and Senior Warden. He has served as acolyte master, stewardship chair, usher, LEM, LEV, and EYC sponsor, as well as many parish activities and fundraisers. He is chair of the Camp Crucis Board of Managers and has served on the Commission on Ministry for the Diaconate. He has been a delegate to diocesan Convention for over 20 years and is lay sub-dean of the Southern Deanery. Jimmy is active in Cursillo, serving on the closing Mass team.  He is a retired Special Education teacher in the Brownwood ISD and was the Special Olympics Area 14 coach of the year in 2000.




Thom Murrell is a member of St. Vincent’s Cathedral. He has served the parish as Junior and Senior Warden, Building Committee chair, and a member of other committees. He is a member of the diocesan Risk Management and Retirement Fund Committees. He is concluding his second term on the Ecclesiastical Trial Court. Nationally, he was coordinator of the ACNA Inaugural Assembly in 2009. He is a past officer of the Fort Worth Claims Association and the Texas Claims Association.




Alann Sampson is a member of St. Andrew's, Fort Worth. She has served as Senior Warden, Stewardship Committee chair, and small-group leader. She co-chairs the Great Books reading group and serves on the Altar Guild, Alpha team, and building committee. She is a Lay Eucharistic Visitor. She headed the Van Cliburn Foundation from 1994 to 2012. Previously she spent 10 years in the banking industry. Her civic involvement includes positions both past and present with Streams and Valleys, the Fort Worth Symphony, and the TCU College of Fine Arts.


Elect one clerical and one lay member

The Very Rev. John Munson is Dean of the Northern Deanery and Vicar of All Saints’, Wichita Falls, and St. John the Divine, Burkburnett. He serves on the diocesan World Mission Committee. He is a member of Rotary International and a past president of the board of Grace Ministries in Burkburnett. In addition, he serves as chaplain to the city Police Department and the Wichita County Sheriff’s Office.


The Rev. Mark Polley is priest assistant with responsibility for Family Ministries at Christ the Redeemer, Fort Worth. He is in his second term as a member of the Camp Crucis Board of Managers. After three years as chair of the diocesan Commission for Youth Ministry, he now serves as clergy advisor to the group.


The Rev. Jeff Stubbs is rector of St. Paul’s, Gainesville. He is clergy co-chair for the Happening program.

Bret Coody is a member of St. Vincent’s Cathedral, where he has been a member of the vestry. An attorney, he has two years’ experience as a hearing examiner for the State of Texas.




Mike Cutter is a member of St. Stephen’s Church in Hurst, where he has served on vestry and the rector search committee. He has chaired the parish finance committee and served as treasurer. An Eagle Scout, he worked for the Southland Corporation, where he was appointed to the board of directors. Now heading his own consulting firm, he advises companies seeking growth opportunities in domestic and foreign markets. His volunteer activity includes service to the Hill School, the Girl Scouts, and a camp for underprivileged and diabetic children at his alma mater, UCLA.




Joseph Francis II is a member of St. Peter & St. Paul, Arlington, where he has served as Senior Warden, usher, subdeacon, and director of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew. He has helped organize the diocesan men’s retreats and has served as assistant diocesan coordinator of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew, encouraging new chapters to form around the diocese. He works as a security consultant.

33rd Annual Convention
of the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth

NOV. 13 & 14, 2015